When a driver pleads guilty or is otherwise convincted of an offense that includes a suspension, the court will notify the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV). The NCDMV will then suspend the license and inform the license holder of the suspension date and duration.
As soon as you learn your license is suspended, you should stop driving. If the police stop you and you are driving on a suspended license, things will only get worse. You will face a longer suspension, more fines, and possibly other consequences. A long-term suspension or revocation is possible.
License Suspension Versus Revocation
North Carolina has notoriously tough laws when it comes to license suspension. Suspensions are a temporary pause of driving privileges. After you pay all related fines and the required time passes, you can get your license back.
A revocation is a complete termination of your privileges. You will need to meet more stringent conditions and take additional steps to get your license back following a revocation. A revocation may occur after several offenses that call for suspensions, such as repeated drunk driving arrests or reckless driving stops.
Common Reasons why North Carolina Drivers Lose Their Licenses
There are many reasons why you might receive a license suspension. In most cases, you will know in advance because you had to appear in court following a traffic ticket or arrest.
According to the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV), some of the most common reasons behind license suspensions include:
- Drunk or impaired driving
- Speeding (as little as 15 miles per hour over the speed limit)
- Accumulation of points based on repeated traffic violations
- Driving with a suspended or revoked license
- Getting a ticket with a suspended license
- Failure to appear at a hearing or pay a fine
For a legal consultation, call 828.286.3866
There are Some Options if You Need to Drive for Work or Other Necessities
If you received a license suspension but must have your car for work, doctor’s appointments, taking your kids to school, or other necessities, our license suspension lawyer serving North Carolina can help. There may be options to get limited driving privileges.
You may need to pay all required fines, petition the court for limited driving privileges, and gain approval. You are not likely to get approved if you have previous license suspensions or were driving under the influence.
Your attorney will help you build a solid argument and represent you to the court. They may be able to help you get limited privileges so you can drive:
- To a particular destination
- During a specific time of day
- Within a certain geographic area
In most cases, these privileges are only approved if you have a demonstrated need to drive to work, school, appointments, or general household maintenance.
What do I do After My License Suspension Ends?
Many people believe they can go back to driving legally as soon as their suspension expires, but it is not that simple. Instead, you will need to pay all fines and get your license reinstated and restored.
You will also need to pay additional fees to the NCDMV. According to the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NC DOT), the fees for getting your license back after a driving while intoxicated arrest include:
- A DWI reinstatement fee of $140.25
- Restoration fee of $70
- A service fee of $50, in some cases
You will likely also need to visit the DMV to get a new license.
Can an Attorney Help Me with My License Suspension?
An attorney at our firm who is well-versed in North Carolina traffic and license suspension law may be able to help you with your case in several ways. These include:
- Fighting a conviction to avoid a suspension
- Requesting limited driving privileges
- Helping you restore your driver’s license
If you face a potential license suspension, you do not have to navigate this process on your own. Working with a legal team who understands these cases and how to present a strong defense of their clients can help. Fighting for a different outcome in your case could dramatically alter how much a traffic violation, DWI, or other stop affects your everyday life.
Speak with a member of our team today who can offer advice and guidance based on the facts of your case. There may be possibilities for you that you were unaware of or options for reinstating your driving privileges sooner.
Complete a Case Evaluation form now
Farmer & Morris Law, PLLC, is Here to Help
You can discuss your case and potential driver’s license suspension with Farmer & Morris Law, PLLC, today. Our team will provide you with answers to your questions and help build a strategy to get a more favorable outcome in your case. We have offices in:
- Rutherfordton, NC
- Spartanburg, SC
- Morganton, NC
- Shelby, NC
Call (828) 286-3866 now to speak with our team about how we may be able to help.