Lyft drivers are financially responsible for accidents they cause, just like any other motorist. If you suffered injuries in an accident involving a rideshare vehicle, a Columbus, NC, Lyft rideshare accident lawyer with Farmer & Morris Law, PLLC can help you seek compensation for your medical bills, lost income, and other damages.
Lyft and Other Rideshare Services May Increase Accidents
When rideshare services like Lyft and Uber began operating, many experts believed they would reduce the number of car accidents and fatal wrecks by providing potential drunk drivers with easy, alternative transportation. However, according to a study reported by Forbes, fatal collisions have increased by around 3 percent (nearly 1,000 deaths) per year since the advent of transportation network companies (TNCs).
Researchers believe the increase is due to more vehicles on the roadway because intoxicated people who once may have walked, bicycled, or taken public transportation (such as a bus) can now call a car. Furthermore, Lyft drivers use GPS navigation, which can be a significant driving distraction, and may drive recklessly to rush to the next paying passenger. This creates a hazard for other drivers and endangers pedestrians at pickup and drop-off points.
If you suffered injuries on North Carolina Highway 108, U.S. Route 74, or any other roadway in Columbus during a Lyft rideshare accident, we can help. Our attorneys can:
- Investigate your collision
- Gather evidence and prove fault
- Identify and pursue your financial losses and compensation for pain and suffering
- File your insurance claims or lawsuits
- Represent you throughout your case, including at trial if necessary
- Fight for the most advantageous settlement available to you
For a legal consultation with a lyft accidents lawyer serving Columbus, call 828.286.3866
Who Is Financially Responsible for Your Columbus Lyft Accident?
You can seek compensation for a rideshare accident whether you suffered injuries as a Lyft passenger or as the occupant of another vehicle involved in the crash. Financial responsibility for your damages will rest with the party that caused the wreck. This could be your Lyft driver, another motorist, or a third party.
If the Lyft Driver Is Liable
If a rideshare driver’s negligent actions caused your injuries, you can seek compensation via their liability insurance policy. Applicable coverage depends at which stage of the ride the accident occurred. According to G.S. § 20-280.4, when a TNC driver is logged on to a rideshare app but is not providing a TNC service, they must have:
- $50,000 for bodily injuries/death to one party
- $100,000 for bodily injuries/death to two or more parties
- $25,000 for property damages
When the TNC driver is engaged in rideshare services, they must have:
- $1.5 million for bodily injuries, death, or property damages
- $1 million in uninsured/underinsured motorist protection
Lyft provides drivers with a policy that meets North Carolina’s requirements. Our rideshare lawyers can help you pursue a claim under the applicable policy and seek the maximum settlement available.
If Another Party Is Liable
Your injuries may not be the fault of your Lyft driver. Another motorist could bear responsibility, or your wreck could be because of vehicle or roadway issues, such as defective brakes, broken traffic lights, or poor intersection design.
If another driver’s reckless or wrongful behavior resulted in your wreck, you can pursue a claim with their liability insurance provider. However, insurance minimums for private motorists are not as high as those for TNC drivers. According to the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, drivers must have $30,000/$60,000 per person/accident for bodily injuries or death and $25,000 for property damages.
If the at-fault driver’s coverage does not satisfy your losses, you may be able to turn to Lyft’s underinsured/uninsured motorist policy or pursue a personal injury lawsuit in civil court. While you can take action against another driver, it can be nearly impossible to sue Lyft because the company considers its drivers independent contractors, not employees. Our attorneys can tell you more about your legal options.
Columbus Lyft Accident Lawyer Near Me 828.286.3866
Which Damages Can You Seek for a Lyft Rideshare Accident?
Whether your wreck resulted from the actions of a Lyft driver, another motorist, or a liable third party, you should not have to pay for damages you did not cause. Our Columbus Lyft rideshare accident lawyers will help you prove liability and pursue compensation for your losses, which may include:
- Medical treatment – We can seek all past and future medical expenses related to your rideshare collision, including emergency transportation, emergency medical services, hospital and doctor bills, physical therapy, rehabilitation, prescription medications, surgeries, and long-term nursing care.
- Lost wages – We can recover back pay for time lost at work because of your accident and injuries. If you suffered a permanent or disabling injury that requires you to change jobs, reduce your workload, or leave the workforce, we can pursue compensation for the loss of your earning capacity.
- Pain and suffering – You deserve compensation for the ways your injuries affect you physically, mentally, and emotionally. We can seek monetary awards for loss of mobility and paralysis, loss of cognitive functioning, depression, anxiety, scarring and disfigurement, chronic pain, stress, and loss of enjoyment of life.
- Various expenses – We will help you identify various accident-related expenses, including vehicle and personal property damages, medical travel expenses, assistance with household services (cleaning, cooking, etc.), and medically necessary home and vehicle modifications.
- Wrongful death – If your loved one suffered a fatal injury, you may qualify for wrongful death awards, including compensation for their medical bills, lost income, conscious pain and suffering, funeral and burial expenses, and the loss of their protection, care, and assistance.
Call Farmer & Morris Law, PLLC
Our Columbus Lyft rideshare accident lawyers are here to help you fight for justice. But do not wait too long to get started. According to G.S. § 1-52, you have three years from your accident to file a personal injury lawsuit. G.S. § 1-53 allows two years to sue for wrongful death. Even if your case does not go to court, these deadlines will affect your insurance claims.
We can help you get to work on your case today. Contact us for a free, no-obligation consultation.