If convicted of causing an accident while driving under the influence (DUI), you could face excessive fines and fees, and even jail time. These penalties could have devastating and far-reaching consequences for your family, your career, and your future.
If you face such charges, a Burke County DUI accident lawyer from Farmer & Morris Law, PLLC, can represent you and protect your rights in and out of the courtroom. Our team can make it easier for you to fight the charges and fight to get you home as soon as possible.
In This Article
Penalties for Burke County DUI Accident Convictions Are Harsh
As outlined by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety (NCDPS), there are five different levels of DUI for which you may be arrested. For example, you are more likely to be charged with a higher level if you are involved in a wreck, especially if it leads to injuries or fatalities.
Levels V, IV, and III
These are the three lowest levels of DUI charges in North Carolina. If convicted of a DUI at one of these levels, you could face the following penalties.
- Jail time: The minimum jail sentences range from one to three days, while the maximum sentences range from two to six months.
- Fines: In addition to other fines and fees, you could face a maximum fine of $200 to $1,000, depending on your DUI level.
- Community service: In some cases, a judge may minimize your jail time in exchange for a certain number of hours of community service.
- Loss of driver’s license: You will not be allowed to drive for 30, 60, or 90 days, depending on your conviction level.
Levels II and I
If you are accused of injuring someone or driving with a child in the car while intoxicated, your charges will be a Level II or a Level I. The types of penalties you face are similar to those at the lower levels, except on an elevated level:
- Jail time: A Level II conviction comes with a one-year maximum sentence. The maximum sentence for Level I is two years.
- Fines: You could face up to $2,000 or $4,000 in fines.
- No option for community service: Unlike lower levels, there is no chance that you will be given community service instead of jail time. For example, if you are sentenced to a year in jail, you must serve that time.
How DUI Penalties Affect You and Your Family
The above penalties can have serious consequences for both yourself and your family, affecting your ability to:
- Find work: Having your license suspended can make it hard for you to go to work, while jail time prevents you from doing your job at all. In addition, a conviction may make prospective employers less likely to hire you.
- Get an education: Some schools may be reluctant to accept a student with a conviction on their record, and having no car can prevent you from easily getting to class.
- Support your family: Diminished job prospects, fines and fees to pay, and mandatory jail time can all damage your financial stability.
- Live a good life: All of the above, plus the burden of a jail sentence, can harm your mental health and self-image.
We understand how scary this all sounds, and we want to help you to avoid such penalties. If you were accused of causing a DUI accident in Burke County, a defense lawyer from Farmer & Morris Law, PLLC, can fight to help you return to your normal life.
For a legal consultation with a dui accidents lawyer serving Burke County, call 828.286.3866
How a DUI Accident Lawyer Can Help
Farmer & Morris Law, PLLC, understands what a stressful, uncertain time this is for you and your family. We strive to provide you with the thoughtful, efficient service you deserve. Russell, one of our criminal law clients, praised our team as “very professional” and recalled how we “listened with great interest to our concerns.”
Depending on the facts of your case, we can do one or more of the following:
- Investigate the charges: We want to know everything there is to know about your case. Our team can review evidence, request new materials, and look for weaknesses in the prosecution’s case.
- Get the charges reduced: For instance, reducing the charges from Level II to Level III gives you the possibility of serving community service rather than going to jail.
- Get the charges dismissed: If we can persuade the prosecution that their case is not strong enough, they may agree to drop all charges against you.
- Negotiate a plea deal: We may be able to speak with the judge about allowing you to plead guilty to lesser charges. This way, you do not have to risk suffering such stringent penalties.
- Fight for you in court: If and when your case goes to trial, we can prepare your case for court and present that case to a judge and jury.
- Get your record expunged: Per the North Carolina Judicial Branch, you may apply to have your criminal record expunged of certain types of crimes. If you qualify, we can help you to begin this process.
Other Support Our Defense Team Provides
Most importantly, we can be there for you when you have questions about your case or need advice on how to proceed. Our team will make every effort to:
- Respond promptly to all questions: We welcome calls from clients twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week.
- Always keep you updated: Whenever we have something to report regarding your case’s progress, we will contact you to discuss the matter.
- Help you plan your case: We know how hard it can be to think logically when you are facing such serious charges. Our team can help you to see things more clearly and understand the implications of all potential actions.
Burke County DUI Accident Lawyer Near Me 828.286.3866
Do Not Hesitate to Seek Legal Help From Our Firm
With DUI accident cases, time is of the essence. Call Farmer & Morris Law, PLLC, at (828) 286-3866 for a free consultation. A member of our team will tell you more about the services provided by our DUI accident lawyers to clients in Burke County. We are standing by to take your call twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week.